Saada Bader (Jordan)

Jordanian parents whose children suffer from speech disorders often cannot afford intervention by a speech therapist. This is why just a minority of these children receive the necessary treatment. KAAD alumna Dr. Saada Bader from Jordan wishes to work for positive change in this regard. The clinical linguist has done intensive research about speech therapy options. “There are only three public universities offering Clinical Lingustics as a specialization here in Jordan. But the need for specialized intervention is huge. We also do not have systematic screenings.”

Alumna Sa'da BaderA KAAD scholarship granted to her in the years 2006 to 2010 gave Saada Bader the opportunity to pursue her doctoral studies in the field of Clinical Linguistics at the University of Bielefeld. Under the supervision of Professor Dr. Dafydd Gibbon (Fakultät für Linguistik und Literaturwissenschaft), Saada Bader concluded her Ph.D. studies with a dissertation on ‘’The Phonology of Typical and Atypical Language Acquisition: A Study of Jordanian Arabic Speaking Children” with summa cum laude in 2010.
Solid foundations for this success had been laid when Saada Bader obtained her Bachelor degree in 2002 in the field of “English for Specific Purposes” at the Jordan University of Science and Technology (JUST), in her hometown of Irbid. After getting her Master degree in the field of Applied Linguistics in 2005 she was teaching at the JUST and involved in a number of research projects. The decision to specialize in children’s speech disorders was taken in 2006. “The University of Bielefeld was the ideal place for this”, the KAAD alumna recalls. “I had the unique chance of combining theoretical work with a field study at the pathological centers in Jordan to diagnose and provide therapeutic plans for various speech disorders. This proved to be very effective for my future professional career.”

Dr. Saada Bader returned to Jordan in 2011 and started working as an Assistant Professor at Jadara University in the Northern city of Irbid, teaching Phonetics, Phonology and Child Language Acquisition at the Department of English Language and Literature. “Studying in Germany was a major experience that changed my academic life and has set important goals for my career future,” Saada Bader explains. “This experience has enriched my cultural, scientific, and social experience; it has actually broadened my professional horizons. This became very clear after my return to Jordan and helped me a lot in setting up my career. Germany has taught me a lot of life values: being disciplined, hard-working and precise to accomplish my goals and to fulfill my dreams.”
On a practical level, the experience of an unfamiliar language environment has proven to be particularly fruitful for Saada Bader, because this confronted the expert linguist with “the difficulty of learning another foreign language. This has been an experience she continues to benefit from in her part-time teaching assignment at the German Jordanian University (GJU) where she teaches “first and second language acquisition”.

The Jordanian lecturer does not deny the challenges that lay along the way: “In Germany, I always had those feelings of homesickness, but – seriously – my reintegration back home in Jordan after my studies was even harder. You cannot avoid the daily automatic comparison between the German and the Jordanian life styles, with all that it means to be living in the Middle East with all the current political and economic events happening now in this area of the world.” When looking back on her time as a KAAD scholar in Germany, Dr. Saada Bader thankfully recalls how much she has benefitted from “the great hospitality, the support of the KAAD family and the beauty of gaining friends from all over the world.”

Saada Bader (Jordanien)

Eltern mit Kindern, deren Sprachentwicklung gestört ist, müssen in Jordanien viel Geld für logopädische Behandlung aufbringen – und so erhält nur ein Bruchteil der Kinder mit Sprachstörungen die benötigten Interventionen. Die jordanische KAAD-Alumna Dr. Saada Bader möchte sich dafür einsetzen, dass sich das ändert. Als Klinische Linguistin hat sie sich intensiv mit Therapieansätzen auseinander gesetzt. „Derzeit bieten in Jordanien nur drei staatliche Universitäten das Fach Klinische Linguistik an. Dabei ist der Bedarf an Sprachtherapie riesig. Auch systematische Screenings gibt es bei uns nicht.“

Ihre eigene Spezialisierung in klinischer Linguistik hat Saada Bader maßgeblich in Deutschland verfolgt. Ein KAAD-Stipendium gab ihr von 2006 bis 2010 die Gelegenheit, an der Universität Bielefeld über Sprachstörungen und verzögerten Spracherwerb arabischsprechender Kinder zu forschen. Unter der Betreuung von Professor Dr. Dafydd Gibbon erarbeitete sie an der Fakultät für Linguistik und Literaturwissenschaft ihre Dissertationsschrift. Die Doktorarbeit mit dem Titel ‘’The Phonology of Typical and Atypical Language Acquisition: A Study of Jordanian Arabic Speaking Children” wurde 2010 mit summa cum laude angenommen.

Alumna Sa'da BaderFür diesen Erfolg hatte Saada Bader bereits in Jordanien solide Grundlagen gelegt. Sie schloss 2002 ihr Bachelorstudium im Fach „English for Specific Purposes“ an der renommierten Jordan University of Science and Technology (JUST) in ihrer Heimatstadt Irbid ab. 2005 erwarb Saada Bader an der JUST den Masterabschluss in „Applied Linguistics“ und sammelte als Lehrbeauftragte dort erste akademische Erfahrungen. Der Entschluss, sich wissenschaftlich mit Sprachstörungen zu befassen, fiel 2006. „Die Universität Bielefeld war dafür der ideale Ort,“ resümiert die KAAD-Alumna heute. „Ich konnte dort die theoretische Arbeit mit Feldforschung kombinieren. In Jordanien habe ich Behandlungszentren bei der Diagnosestellung und der Entwicklung von Therapieplänen beraten. Das war ein ganz entscheidender Schritt auf meinem beruflichen Weg.”

2011 kehrte Saada Bader nach Jordanien zurück und ist seither als Assistant Professor für Phonetik, Phonologie und frühkindlichen Spracherwerb an der Abteilung für Englische Sprache und Literatur der Jadara University im Norden des Landes tätig. „In Deutschland zu studieren war eine großartige Erfahrung für mich, die meinen akademischen Horizont erweitert und mir motivierende Ziele eröffnet hat,“ so die jordanische Dozentin. „Auch in kultureller und sozialer Hinsicht war es eine bereichernde Erfahrung, die mir gerade bei meinen ersten Karriereschritten in Jordanien sehr geholfen hat. Die Zeit in Deutschland hat mich viel gelehrt: Diszipliniert und präzise zu arbeiten und an meine Ziele und Träume zu glauben.“

Besonders fruchtbar war für Dr. Saada Bader die Tatsache, dass sie sich in einer neuen sprachlichen Umgebung zu Recht finden musste. Als professionelle Linguistin war sie so mit der Erfahrung konfrontiert, wie schwer der Erwerb einer neuen Fremdsprache ist. Davon profitiert die Linguistin bis heute in ihrer Tätigkeit an der German-Jordanian University (GJU), wo sie als Lehrbeauftragte im Bereich Erst- und Zweitsprachenerwerb tätig ist.

Natürlich war der Weg bis zu diesem Punkt alles andere als leicht: „In Deutschland hatte ich immer mit Heimweh zu kämpfen“, erinnert sich die KAAD-Alumna. „Aber sehr viel härter war das Zurückkehren in mein Heimatland nach Studienende. Man vergleicht dann ständig automatisch zwischen dem Alltagsleben in Deutschland und Jordanien, und das macht es einem angesichts der derzeitigen politischen und wirtschaftlichen Situation im Nahen Osten alles andere als leicht.“ Dr. Saada Bader blickt voller Dankbarkeit auf das zurück, was sie in Deutschland erleben durfte: „Eine großartige Gastfreundschaft, die Unterstützung der KAAD-Familie – und die fantastische Erfahrung, Freundschaft mit Menschen aus allen Teilen der Welt zu schließen.“