Africa

Our programme for sub-Saharan Africa is geared towards development of African countries and societies as well as development of qualified individuals.
Young university graduates, who have already taken over responsibility in church and society, should be empowered to continue along this line and do it in an even more qualified way. Beneficiaries of KAAD-scholarships are predominantly from needy families and display academic excellence. The ultimate aim of our scholarship policy is the promotion of so-called “Agents of Change”.

The focus countries in Africa today are: Ghana, Ethiopia, Zimbabwe and Kenya. Uganda and Tanzania are counted to be part of the focus region East Africa, apart from Kenya. There are four Partner Committees which are also responsible for the adjoining countries of the above mentioned.

In the focus countries Ghana, Kenya, Ethiopia and Zimbabwe, there is – within the S1-programme – also the possibility for Master-scholarships at local universities (so called “in-country scholarships”). The in-country scholars together with the alumni are convening in local KAAD-networks that aim at making an impact in church and society of their home countries.

Interested graduates can fill an online questionnaire, which they find on the application webpage www.kaad-application.de. For detailed information about application requirements and procedures, we recommend to read the FAQs Afrika-Department.

Our partner in Africa:

Ethiopia

Dr. Elis Lewi Teklemariam
Regional KAAD Partner Committee
for the Horn of Africa
Addis Ababa University
P. O. Box 1176
Addis Abeba

Ghana

Msgr. Dr. John Opoku-Agyemang
Regional KAAD Partner Committee for West Africa
c/o St. Gregory the Great Major Seminary
P.O. Box KS 99
Kumasi

Kenya

Dr. John Kabutha Mugo
Regional KAAD Partner Committee of East Africa
P.O. Box 10565
00100 Nairobi

Tanzania

Prof. Dr. Aldo Lupala
Ardhi University
P.O. Box 35176
Dar es Salaam

Uganda

Dr. Poscovia S. Namubiru
Uganda Mangagement Institute
P.O. Box 20131
Kampala

Zimbabwe

Fr. Dr. Nigel Johnson SJ
Regional KAAD Partner Committee of Southern Africa
52 Mount Pleasant Drive
Mt. Pleasant
Harare

Afrika

Unser Programm für das subsaharische Afrika setzt sowohl entwicklungs- wie auch forschungsorientierte Förderakzente. Nachwuchswissenschaftler/innen, die bereits in Kirche und Gesellschaft Verantwortung übernommen haben, sollen befähigt werden, dies weiter und noch qualifizierter zu tun. Dabei kommen die Stipendien begabten Studierenden aus bedürftigen Familien zugute. Ziel ist die Förderung sogenannter „Agents of Change“, die durch ihre akademische Qualifikation in Gesellschaft, Wissenschaftswelt und Kirche Verantwortung übernehmen können.

Die Schwerpunktländer des KAAD in Afrika sind: Ghana, Äthiopien, Simbabwe und Kenia. Uganda und Tansania zählen neben Kenia ebenfalls zur Schwerpunktregion Ostafrika. Es gibt vier Partnergremien, die auch für die Anrainerstaaten der Schwerpunktländer zuständig sind. Darüber hinaus gibt es auch Kontaktpersonen im Partnerland Kamerun.

In den Schwerpunktländern Ghana, Kenia, Äthiopien und Simbabwe gibt es innerhalb des S1-Programms auch die Möglichkeit des Stipendiums für Master-Studiengänge vor Ort (Sur Place Stipendien). Die Stipendiaten/innen vor Ort und die Rückkehrenden aus Deutschland bilden vom KAAD unterstützte Alumnivereine.

Interessierte füllen bitte einen Online Fragebogen aus, den sie finden unter www.kaad-application.de. Für Detailinformationen über Bewerbungsvoraussetzungen und -verfahren empfehlen wir, die FAQs Afrika-Referat zu lesen.

Unsere Partner in Afrika:

Äthiopien

Dr. Elis Lewi Teklemariam
Regional KAAD Partner Committee
for the Horn of Africa
Addis Ababa University
P. O. Box 1176
Addis Abeba

Ghana

Msgr. Dr. John Opoku-Agyemang
Regional KAAD Partner Committee for West Africa
c/o St. Gregory the Great Major Seminary
P.O. Box KS 99
Kumasi

Kenia

Dr. John Kabutha Mugo
Regional KAAD Partner Committee of East Africa
P.O. Box 10565
00100 Nairobi

Simbabwe

Fr. Dr. Nigel Johnson SJ
Regional KAAD Partner Committee of Southern Africa
52 Mount Pleasant Drive
Mt. Pleasant
Harare

Tansania

Prof. Dr. Aldo Lupala
Ardhi University
P.O. Box 35176
Dar es Salaam

Uganda

Dr. Poscovia S. Namubiru
Uganda Mangagement Institute
P.O. Box 20131
Kampala