General Assembly
In our General Assembly the directors of the large Church-sponsored relief organizations cooperate with representatives of the dioceses and of the campus ministry.

The institution is headed by a President and it acts as a clearing agency of the German Bishops’ Conference for all matters concerning foreign students and scientists in Germany.

Academic Council
The Academic Council, the body that selects scholars, is composed of internationally distinguished university professors and two representatives of the Church.

Liaison Professors and Campus Ministry
At larger universities KAAD is supported by Liaison Professors who assist scholarship holders on academic as well as personal matters. From time to time they invite scholarship holders to informal conversations on academic topics or to social gatherings, often in close cooperation with the local campus ministry. By doing so, they greatly contribute to creating a sense of community among KAAD-scholarship holders.
The campus ministries – Katholische Hochschulgemeinden (KHG) and Katholische Studierendengemeinden (KSG) – are our partners at each university. They offer advice, company and an attractive semester program in a friendly and international atmosphere.

Church Partners


KAAD is a member of the association Forum Hochschule und Kirche e.V. The forum is intended to strengthen the Church’s presence at colleges and universities via 125 Catholic chaplaincies, primarily by educating and training staff and volunteers as well as with general support for the pastoral work at universities across the board.


Planning and coordination meetings are held on a regular basis with our partners the Protestant Church, the EWDE Scholarship Program, and the Diakonisches Werk.


Among other programs, there is a partnership between the Cusanuswerk – the Catholic Church in Germany’s foundation for gifted German students – and KAAD for the exchange of scholarship holders at educational events.


KAAD is a founding member of SECIS (Service of the European Churches for International Students), originating with the first world  congress on the pastoral care of international students of the Pontifical Council for Pastoral Care of Migrants and Itinerant People (1996). SECIS currently encompasses 10 national delegates and one (protestant) affiliated member; KAAD’s secretary general is vice president of this network.


There is close cooperation with the Latin America-Germany Scholarship Organization Stipendienwerk Lateinamerika-Deutschland e.V. (Intercambio Cultural Latinoamericano Alemán-ICAL); among other things in the field of counseling scholarship holders and their respective events overseas in Latin America. Some of the local partner committees also work for both organizations.


The Georges-Anawati-Foundatio and KAAD are joint sponsors of the Georges-Anawati-Scholarship. The Foundation promotes initiatives, which foster mutual respect and understanding between Christians and Muslims via interreligious and intercultural dialogue.


Ordo Socialis e.V. is a scientific union of the Association of Catholic Entrepreneurs (BKU). It analyzes social developments in various countries from the viewpoint of the Church’s social doctrine, and provides text and translations on this subject by various authors in numerous languages.

Liaison Professors

PD Dr. Patrick Becker
Professurvertreter für Systematische Theologie
Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen
Theaterplatz 14 Raum 256
52062 Aachen

Tel. 02 41/80-9 60 24

Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Schmidt-Biggemann
Freie Universität Berlin
Institut für Philosophie
Habelschwerdter Allee 30
14195 Berlin
Tel.: 030-83855510

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Grimm
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Institut für Biologie
AG Pflanzenphysiologie
Philippistraße 13
10115 Berlin
Tel.: 030-20936106

Prof. Dr. Thomas Söding
Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät
Universitätsstraße 150
44801 Bochum
Tel.: 0234-3228403

Prof. Dr. Konrad Vössing
Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
Institut für Geschichtswissenschaft / Abt. Alte Geschichte
Am Hof 1e
53012 Bonn
Tel.: 0228-733975

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stephan Scholl
Institut für Chemische und Thermische Verfahrenstechnik
Langer Kamp 7
38106 Braunschweig
Tel.: 0531-3912780

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Alberto García-Ortiz
Universität Bremen (NW1)
Lehrstuhl für Integrierte Digitalsysteme, ITEM
Otto-Hahn-Allee 1
28359 Bremen
Tel.: 0421-21862533

Prof. Dr. Manfred Glesner
Institut für Datentechnik
Merckstr 25
64283 Darmstadt
Tel.: 06151-164537

Prof. Dr. André Habisch
Pater-Ingbert-Naab-Str. 42
85072 Eichstätt
Tel.: 08421-931417

Prof. Dr. Michael Gabel
Universität Erfurt
Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät
Nordhäuser Strasse 63
99089 Erfurt
Tel: (0) 361 737-2506 (2507)

Prof. Dr. Mechthild Habermann
Universität Erlangen
Lehrstuhl für Germanistische Sprachwissenschaft
Bismarckstr. 1
91054 Erlangen

Prof. Dr. Thomas Schreijäck
Universität Frankfurt, FB 07
Grüneburgplatz 1
60629 Frankfurt a.M.
Tel.: 069-79833341

Prof. Dr. Helmut Hoping
Universität Freiburg
Theologische Fakultät
Dogmatik und Liturgiewissenschaft
79085 Freiburg
Tel.: 0761-2032091

Prof. Dr. Franz Reimer
Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen, Fachbereich 01
Hein-Heckroth-Str. 5
35390 Gießen
Tel:. 0641-99-21180/81

Prof. Dr. Gordon Whittaker
Institut für Ethnologie
Humboldtallee 19
37073 Göttingen
Tel.: 0551-394188

Prof. Dr. Heinz-Gerhard Justenhoven
Leiter des Instituts für Theologie und Frieden
Herrengraben 4
20459 Hamburg
Tel.: 040-670859-18

Prof. Dr. Arnold Ganser
Medizinische Hochschule Hannover
Carl-Neuberg-Str. 1
30625 Hannover
Tel.: 0511-5323020

Prof. Dr. Thomas Gasenzer
Kirchhoff-Institut für Physik
Im Neuenheimer Feld 227
69120 Heidelberg
Tel.: 06221 545173

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Weigand
Friedrich-Schiller-Universitaet Jena
Institut fuer Anorganische und Analytische
Humboldtstraße 8
D – 07743 Jena
Tel.: +49 (0)3641 / 9-48160
Fax : +49 (0)3641 / 9-48102

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Franz Nestmann
Institut für Wasserwirtschaft und Kulturtechnik
Universität TH Karlsruhe
Kaiserstr. 12
76128 Karlsruhe
Tel.: 0721-608-2194

Prof. Dr. Christoph Helmig
Philosophisches Seminar
Universität zu Köln
50923 Köln
Tel.: 0221-470-6245

Prof. Dr. Alfred Winter
Universität Leipzig
Institut für Medizinische Informatik, Statistik und Epidemiologie
Härtelstr. 16-18
04107 Leipzig

Prof. Dr. med. Herwig Stopfkuchen
Kinderklinik und Kinderpoliklinik
55131 Mainz

Prof. Dr. Markus Vogt
Universität München
Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät /Raum: C 211
Geschwister-Scholl-Platz 1
80539 München
Tel.: 089-2180-2476

Prof. Dr. Judith Könemann
Universität Münster
Institut für Katholische Theologie und ihre Didaktik
Robert-Koch-Str. 40, Zi. 309
48149 Münster
Tel.: 0251-8332657

Prof. Dr. Julia Glesner
Kultur und Management

Fachhochschule Potsdam
Studiengang Kulturarbeit
Kiepenheuerallee 5
14469 Potsdam
Tel. 0331 5801611

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hendrik Lens
Universität Stuttgart
Institut f. Feuerungs- und Kraftwerkstechnik
Abt. Stromerzeugung und Automatisierungstechnik (SuA)
Pfaffenwaldring 23
70569 Stuttgart
Tel.: 0711 685 66213

Prof. Dr. Heinrich Pachner
Universität Tübingen
Geographisches Institut
Hölderlinstraße 12
72074 Tübingen
Tel.: 07071-297-6084

Prof. Dr. Michael Böhnke
Bergische Universität Wuppertal
Fachbereich A – Kath. Theologie
Gaußstr. 20
42119 Wuppertal
Tel. 0202-439 23 53

Prof. Dr. Hans Rechenmacher
Universität Würzburg
Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät
Sanderring 2
97070 Würzburg
Tel.: 0931-312251