Our programme for sub-Saharan Africa is geared towards development of African countries and societies as well as development of qualified individuals.
Young university graduates, who have already taken over responsibility in church and society, should be empowered to continue along this line and do it in an even more qualified way. Beneficiaries of KAAD-scholarships are predominantly from needy families and display academic excellence. The ultimate aim of our scholarship policy is the promotion of so-called “Agents of Change”.

The focus countries in Africa today are: Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya and Zimbabwe. Uganda and Tanzania are counted to be part of the focus region East Africa, apart from Kenya. There are four Partner Committees which are also responsible for the adjoining countries of the above mentioned.

In the focus countries Ghana, Kenya, Ethiopia and Zimbabwe, there is – within the S1-programme – also the possibility for Master-scholarships at local universities (so called “in-country scholarships”). The in-country scholars together with the alumni are convening in local KAAD-networks that aim at making an impact in church and society of their home countries.

Interested graduates can click on the button below to fill in an online questionnaire.
For detailed information about application requirements and procedures, we recommend to read the FAQs Afrika-Department.

Our Partners in Africa:

Dr. Elis Lewi Teklemariam
Regional KAAD Partner Committee for the Horn of Africa
Addis Ababa University
P. O. Box 1176
Addis Abeba

Dr. Benjamin B. Campion
Regional KAAD Partner Committee for West Africa
Faculty of Renewable Natural Resources
Private Mail Bag, University Post Office
Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi

Dr. John Kabutha Mugo
Regional KAAD Partner Committee for East Africa
P.O. Box 10565
00100 Nairobi

Prof. Dr. Aldo Lupala
Ardhi University
P.O. Box 35176
Dar es Salaam

Dr. Poscovia S. Namubiru
Uganda Mangagement Institute
P.O. Box 20131

Dr. Rose Jaji
Regional KAAD Partner Committee for Southern Africa
University of Zimbabwe, Department of Sociology
Box MP 167 Mount Pleasant, Harare